Bidvest Wits will look for a return to winning form in the Absa Premiership when they welcome Black Leopards to Bidvest Stadium in Johannesburg on Tuesday 10 March 2020.

Kick-off is at 7.30pm CAT.

Wits have gone three league matches without a win after they were held 0-0 at home by Chippa United on Saturday, March 7. They find themselves in sixth place on the log, 13 points adrift of leaders Kaizer Chiefs, but having played two fewer matches than the Soweto club.

The Clever Boys have claimed 15 points from 10 home matches so far this season – a record coach Gavin Hunt will want to see his team improve upon, starting with his clash at home to bottom-of-the-log Leopards.

The Limpopo side come into the clash on the back of a 2-0 loss away to provincial rivals Baroka on March 7, a result which brought up a hat-trick of league defeats (and eight losses from their last 10 in the top flight). Lidoda Duvha have claimed just five points from 11 away matches in 2019/20.

In head-to-head stats, Leopards and Wits have met in 18 league matches since 2000/01. The Clever Boys have claimed 10 wins compared to four for Lidoda Duvha, while four games have been drawn. The Johannesburg side has claimed six wins from nine home matches in the rivalry, suffering just one defeat in the process.

Wits completed a league ‘double’ over Leopards last season, winning 1-0 in Thohoyandou in December 2018 and 3-1 at home in Johannesburg in April 2019, with goals from Simon Murray, Deon Hotto and Elias Pelembe. The Clever Boys are unbeaten in their last six league matches against Lidoda Duvha.

The teams will meet again on the penultimate day of the season, May 6, at the Thohoyandou Stadium.



Season: Result – Scorers

2006/07: Wits 4-0 Leopards – Julio, Moleyane, Raselemane, Manual
2006/07: Leopards 1-0 Wits – Shongwe
2007/08: Wits 2-1 Leopards – De Jesus 2; Sikhwivhilu
2007/08: Leopards 1-0 Wits – Netshidzivhe
2011/12: Leopards 1-2 Wits – Mongalo; Sib. Vilakazi 2
2011/12: Wits 0-0 Leopards
2012/13: Wits 2-2 Leopards – Kadi, Chapman; Xakane, Ramagalela
2012/13: Leopards 0-2 Wits – Isaacs, Chapman
2018/19: Leopards 0-1 Wits – Mhango
2018/19: Wits 3-1 Leopards – Murray (pen), Hotto, Pelembe; Musonda (pen)